nanowrimo mo’ and mo’

Like almost 200,000 other people I am participating in Novel Writing November, wherein the writer begins on November 1 to write and aims to generate 50,000 words by midnight on November 30th. It’s madness, it’s overwhelming, it’s fun. This year is the fourth go-round for me. I haven’t participated since 2007. Oddly, this coincided with the last time I only had a part time job.

This year for the first time I am surrounded by writing pals who are also participating in Nano, and it’s been helpful so far. I have people to commiserate with. I have colleagues to talk shop with. I have the spur of seeing their word count and knowing that they, too work full time and may have children as well. It’s a good thing.

My Nano experience has always been solitary. I couldn’t swing the coffee shop gatherings, the nano mail, the writing buddy thing. It was all I could do to write the words I needed to write that day. But this year my experience reflects my new community, the writers I have met through SCBWI, classes I have taken and the critique group that has endured, sometimes very sparsely populated, for almost two years. I’m so grateful for all of them, for the sense that what I do matters, that I am working and that so are my peeps. I’m totally adding the awesomeness tag to this blog post. And then will become a word machine. Cheers!

About Tina Hoggatt

I am an artist and writer and work for 4Culture, King County's cultural arts organization.
This entry was posted in awesomeness and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to nanowrimo mo’ and mo’

  1. carol bolt says:

    I love the magic of community! Yeah to you!
    Best, Carol

  2. Tina Hoggatt says:

    Community is magic, and we are so much less without it. Community makes so many things possible.

Leave a Reply

