I need to be fed

This week, Inspiration Wednesday is all about being fed. I told a friend recently that I used to think I was an okay cook who made some things very well. Lately, I’ve been feeling like my cooking mojo got lost in the dishwasher. Everything I cook turns out okay at best. Even tried and true standby dishes can’t be counted on. Lunchtime, if I’ve neglected to bring lunch from home, I can walk into four or five places, fail to find something that appeals, and leave. Often I’ll end up with something that doesn’t satisfy. My friend looked at me and said, as if diagnosing a condition, “You need to be fed. At this time in your life, it’s you who needs to be fed.”

Here’s the guy who has stepped up to the task. As I have turned more seriously to my work, he has found the pleasures of the kitchen. He takes time in the garden, pours concrete curbs, top-dresses the beds. The hummingbird feeders are diligently filled with nectar, and new feeders have been hung for the birds of every size that come for seed and suet. He’s the guy who feeds me while I think of other things. Damn, I’m lucky.

Inspiration Wednesday. May you be fed.

About Tina Hoggatt

I am an artist and writer and work for 4Culture, King County's cultural arts organization.
This entry was posted in awesomeness, inspiration wednesday, postaweek2011 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I need to be fed

  1. Lovely! And you’ve reminded me to be more conscious of and thankful for the one who keeps me fed.

    May you continue to be fed. And may it be very nourishing.

    • Tina Hoggatt says:

      Thanks, Audrey – funny how this was a bit of a revelation for me. Sometimes it’s okay to let other folks take care of you so you can do other things. Powerful.

  2. carol bolt says:

    Dear Tina, thank you for the blessing and the inspiration. That’s quite a guy you got there…. and uh, are you gonna share some of that pie? that looks REALLY good…..

  3. Behind every successful woman stands a (nother wo)man :-) Gotta love them!

Leave a Reply

