inspiration wednesday: shhhhh

Back in the olden days, before cell phone cameras, I took this picture of Fra Angelico’s portrait of Saint Francis* and was chastised by a monk for my sins. It wasn’t the best behavior but I was so moved by this painting in its modest mounting, the directness with which the artist spoke to me, the connection I felt with the subject who I was convinced was the artist himself, that I just had to be able to see it again. It’s a very intimate painting, and in Florence’s San Marco Monastery, with its remarkable frescos, the room of paintings where it hung seemed like a bit of an afterthought. For me, it was one of the greatest experiences I had during my trip to Italy.

I plan to take its message to heart this weekend at the SCBWI conference, and work on listening before speaking, take everything in before opining. And I will take its reminder that beauty and profound experience come in many forms and and at unexpected times.

Have a fabulous and thoughtful Wednesday.

*I remember this as Saint Francis – but can find no image of the painting online to confirm that memory. Let me know if you know different.

About Tina Hoggatt

I am an artist and writer and work for 4Culture, King County's cultural arts organization.
This entry was posted in inspiration wednesday and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to inspiration wednesday: shhhhh

  1. Gorgeous painting! I looks like it could have been painted today. And gorgeous post about listening and finding beauty and meaning in unexpected times and places, Teen. Have a wildly fun and successful, if not quiet, time at the L.A. SCBWI conference. I’ll miss you.

Leave a Reply

