admiring all the nanowrimo participants

I want to give a shout out to all of the writers who participated in NaNoWriMo and spent their November generating something like 1500 words a day (sometimes more, sometimes less), eating sugary inspiration and losing sleep over their stories and word counts. All of you are powerful and visionary, able to see yourselves as authors and  willing to take on a difficult challenge. I didn’t join the number this year but I cheered many friends on and followed their daily reports, Word Wars, fears of failure, crows of victory and generous encouragement to fellow writers. The Seattle area generated millions of words and hundreds of gatherings and I’m proud to be from this place. Next year I will take on my 5th NaNoWriMo. I’m committing now. Remind me if I start whining about being busy next October. Visit the National Novel Writing November website to see the cumulative word count and read all about this year’s accomplishments. And while you’re there think about making a small donation. NaNoWriMo is what storytelling, literacy and passing the creative baton to the next generation is all about.

About Tina Hoggatt

I am an artist and writer and work for 4Culture, King County's cultural arts organization.
This entry was posted in awesomeness and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

