Poetry in December

I used to print a letterpress card and send it every year, usually with a poem I admired or that expressed something I was experiencing or thinking about. Truthfully, this was just an excuse to read poetry as the days grew short and the nights long and the months of Northern darkness began. I still read poetry in the winter, because I need to. Here is a beautiful poem by Galway Kinnell I love for the vision of nature it gives me, something I have never seen, fresh and miraculous.

Daybreak

On the tidal mud, just before sunset,
dozens of starfishes
were creeping. It was
as though the mud were a sky
and enormous, imperfect stars
moved across it as slowly
as the actual stars cross heaven.
All at once they stopped,
and, as if they had simply
increased their receptivity
to gravity, they sank down
into the mud, faded down
into it and lay still, and by the time
pink of sunset broke across them
they were as invisible
as the true stars at daybreak.

Galway Kinnell

 

Photo by Brandon Hair
About Tina Hoggatt

I am an artist and writer and work for 4Culture, King County's cultural arts organization.
This entry was posted in inspiration wednesday. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Poetry in December

  1. carol bolt says:

    Thank you Tina, it is always a joy to open my email and find words from you.
    Wishing you and yours a star-filled holiday season, Carol

Leave a Reply

