SCBWI WWA Conference: comin’ up

Two weeks from today we’ll be in the thick of the SCBWI Western Washington conference, already overloaded, probably exhausted and swirling with inspiration. I’m on the advisory committee for Western Washington and we had our final planning meeting today. Several hours in the windowless basement of the West Seattle Library on the first sunny weekend day in some time is hard duty, but as always I came away honored to be among the literally thousands of writers and illustrators nationwide who support the all-volunteer Society of Writers and Illustrators, honored most especially to be among the NW contingent.

We assembled name tags and went over protocol and checked up on duties for the conference as expected, but the regional advisors, new this year, also brought up next year’s conference and suggested ways we might improve it, changes that might offer a fuller critique experience for the attendees. It’s just this kind of pro-active thinking, learning from the national organization and drawing on the experience of the seasoned advisory committee members who’ve been in the conference trenches before, that made me want to be on the AdCom in the first place.

If you’re registered, get some rest. It will be, as always, a full and fun weekend. For those who can’t be there, follow along on Twitter. I’ll keep you posted, too.

About Tina Hoggatt

I am an artist and writer and work for 4Culture, King County's cultural arts organization.
This entry was posted in scbwi. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to SCBWI WWA Conference: comin’ up

  1. I’m enjoying your site, Tina – and I’m excited for this conference! I’ll be going this weekend and it will be my first writing conference. I think my head is already spinning 🙂 If you have any tips for a newbie, I’m all ears. By the way – I love your idea for Poem Mondays.
    Thanks for sharing!
    Kate

    • Tina Hoggatt says:

      So glad you will be joining us at the conference, Kate and also that you are enjoying my blog. Hopefully you have signed up for the orientation for new conference goers On the morning of the 21st, 7:30 – 8:15. This will really help give you an idea of what to expect and also the opportunity to meet some mentors and other newbies as you begin your conference weekend. Feel free to come on along in any event. I so look forward to seeing you. And I think I’ll put a post together about conference survival strategies too. Thanks for asking.

Leave a Reply

