SCBWI WWA Illustrator Show: prep, choose & frame

©Tina Hoggatt 2013

©Tina Hoggatt 2013

This is the illustration of mine chosen to be included in the Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators Western Washington illustrator exhibit, opening in a few short weeks on October 10. I made the painting as part of preparing my portfolio for the summer conference in LA. I like this dog a lot, and as we move officially into fall I feel for this character. Like her, I just want to smell the lilies a little while longer.

As I send and respond to email, update spread sheets and follow up on details of the show I remain delighted and impressed with the work of the 66 other illustrators who will be part of this exhibit and with their passion for the work. So many different styles, levels of storytelling and focus. This small painting is at the framer’s and I can’t wait to see it again. This simple little painting brought the fun back into painting for me this summer and reminded me again of what I tend to take for granted: that painting is a joy and pleasure; that making the kind of images I want to make without thinking about the art world is a great relief and ought to be where I started instead of where I’ve ended up; that the world is full of stories to tell and I am so very happy about that.

The SCBWI WWA Illustrator exhibit will open at the Washington State Convention Center in Seattle on October 10, 2013 and remain in place through January 8, 2014.

Put Sunday, October 27 from 2:00 – 5:00 pm on your calendar – the illustrators will have an open house with art making for kids and grown ups, book sales and signings. Hope to see you there.

About Tina Hoggatt

I am an artist and writer and work for 4Culture, King County's cultural arts organization.
This entry was posted in kidlit, scbwi and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

